External Inspiration 2

There are times in the present climate that I feel a black, desperate need to write, to express, to calm myself and hopefully others. Yet at every turn, I feel I cannot say more eloquently or with any originality what others have said before me.

Therefore, I turn to an artist that I feel tends to be swept aside like so many ‘commercial’ songwriters, despite a succinct, powerful, and relatable way with words. Anyway, every time I see what’s going on around me, I hear this song of John Mayer’s in my head. I hope it soothes any feelings of loneliness or fear as it does for me.

 

‘Stop This Train’

No, I’m not color blind
I know the world is black and white.
I try to keep an open mind,
But I just can’t sleep on this tonight.

Stop this train.
I want to get off and go home again.
I can’t take the speed it’s moving in.
I know I can’t,
But honestly won’t someone stop this train?

Don’t know how else to say it:
I don’t want to see my parents go …
One generation’s length away
From fighting life out on my own.

Stop this train!
I want to get off and go home again!
I can’t take the speed it’s moving in.
I know I can’t,
But honestly won’t someone stop this train?

So scared of getting older,
I’m only good at being young.
So I play the numbers game
To find a way to say that life has just begun.

Had a talk with my old man:
Said, “Help me understand.”
He said, “Turn sixty-eight,
You’ll renegotiate …

“Don’t stop this train.
Don’t for a minute change the place you’re in,
And don’t think I couldn’t ever understand.
I tried my hand.
John, honestly, we’ll never stop this train”

Once in a while, when it’s good,
It’ll feel like it should
When you’re all still around
And you’re still safe and sound
And you don’t miss a thing
‘Till you cry when you’re driving away in the dark.

Singing, “Stop this train.
I want to get off and go home again.
I can’t take the speed it’s moving in.
I know, I can’t
‘Cause now I see I’ll never stop this train.”

Leave a Reply

