This Side and That

moli

There’s a light on across the tracks.
Across the railroad tracks that lead into town.
On this side, there is me.
On that side, there is who?

There’s a light on across the tracks,
It peeks through the bare branches
Like a child, like a mouse,
Trying to touch my nose.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
I imagine who turned it on, who will turn it off.
On this side, it was the mother.
On that side, it was the child.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
I do not know who turned it on-I wish I could.
Wish I could say hello, say good night,
Shake her hand, or touch his hair.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
But perhaps I wasn’t meant to know.
On that side, she has dreams, he has love;
On this side, that knowledge must be enough.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
I would fight for them if they needed. I would.
On this side, I am given things.
On that side, they are not.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
If an evil someone tried to turn off that light before they wanted,
I would cross the tracks.
I would help them. Because I would want help.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
It seems the difference between me and that evil someone
Is the wondering. I wonder about them, but they don’t wonder.
Is the caring. I care about them, but they don’t care.

There’s a light on across the tracks.
But my eyes are full and heavy from a day’s seeing.
On this side, I am tired.
To that side, I say with wonder and care: good night.

Leave a Reply

